Okay.  Ok.  Deep breaths.

There.  I’ve done it.  I’ve started my very first ever public-ish blog.  I guess it’s public.  I don’t even know.  Should I?  It doesn’t matter.

What’s important for you to know is that even though millions of people post to their blogs every day with little to no anxiety…well, those millions are not me.  I fully intended to rock my first post last night.  But I took one look at the WordPress dashboard and all the functions of flexibility it offered and I did what I do best:  I panicked.  The words started to look like a combination of Spanish and Calculus (we’ll call it Spalculus) and before I knew it, I had started a blog on the most basic “even Granny can do it” drag-and-drop site.  And after about ten seconds of that, I realized screw it, I got a Bachelor’s Degree in Communications, I’m better than this.  So I took my Radio/Television/Film education and did what I do second best:  grabbed the remote and turned on the TV.

Flash forward to tonight, when I put on my big-girl pants, pulled it together and started my first post.  (How’m I doing by the way?  So far so good?)

I bet you’re probably wondering why I’ve started a blog called Scared Witless.  Well…after successfully conquering two of my fears while on a recent vacation, I decided that maybe it was time for me to tackle my anxieties head-on.  What’s that you say?  You didn’t know I had any?  (You must not know me very well.)  For starters, I’m arachnophobic (if you’ve got 8 or more legs you’ll be answering to my husband), pseudodysphagic (afraid of choking) and refuse to get on roller coasters.  I run away from bees, turn white-knuckled in airplane turbulence and shake in my boots when I even think of vomiting (thankfully it’s been over13 years and counting since my last bout).  TMI? 

But while I’d like to conquer and work through some of my anxieties, and perhaps break down some of the walls that I fear make me appear uptight, I won’t be sticking my finger down my throat any time soon.  I’m not going to jump out of a plane or become a total daredevil.  But I might take a few more risks. 

This blog is my first.  Because one of my biggest anxieties is that I’m not good enough.  I’ve been writing ever since I was four or five years old.  In fact, one of my first stories was about a fart.  Honest, I’m not full of hot air (though my husband may disagree…).  If I can dig it up, I’ll post it here eventually.  But I hardly ever finish anything because like most writers, as soon as the words hit the page I begin to doubt myself.

But I’m going to be workin’ on that.  I’ve decided to become a Feardom Fighter. 

So…when I noticed an availability in my journalist’s community to review a new ziplining attraction on July 2nd, I didn’t think, I just signed up.  And I got approved.

Ziplining.  ME.  Jumping off a platform and soaring briskly over the treetops with only a giant clip and a safety harness to protect me from falling out of the sky.

Ohmygod.  Ohmygod.

What did I do?????

